Board of Directors

Joy Dally

Morgan Dawkins

Anne Davis

Emily Aune

Ken Leaman

About the board

Who’s on the Board?

The Board is comprised of a minimum of 5 active members of the Society and is responsible for the management of the Society. The Board is elected by the membership and serves a term of three years. The Executive Committee, comprised of the President, Vice President, Secretary and if so designated by the Board, the Treasurer are elected yearly from the Board, by the Board Members.

How is the Board divided geographically?

The VBSS is divided into four districts. District 1 includes the west coast states, District 2 includes the midwest, District 3 includes the lake region states and District 4 represents the east coast. 

The members of the Board of Directors are elected from each of the 4 Districts, and one Board member serves at large. The Board may move one or more states to contiguous districts from time to time to equalize the numbers of registrations in each district. In the event that no members from a district express interest in filling a Board position, a candidate at large may fill the position.

Election Years

In the best interest of the VBSS the board will stagger elections for board members terms beginning in 2022.

  • Year 1: Districts 2 and 4
  • Year 2: Districts 1 and 3
  • Year 3: At Large Board Member

How to get on the Board?

Prior to declaring their candidacy, a member of the Society must have registered sheep in the calendar year of their candidacy, must be current on their dues and have no disciplinary findings against them. Interested members shall submit a letter or email of nomination to the Society by August 1 of an election year. The Secretary shall ascertain the qualification of the candidate prior to placing their name on the ballot. Directors must continue to breed and register sheep in each calendar year while serving on the Board.